_YRA8335.jpg

Chef Jean-Luc Boulay

 

Originally from France, Jean-Luc Boulay emigrated to Canada in 1976 to settle there permanently. Master Chef of France and Officer of the Order of Agricultural Merit of France, he is renowned for his mastery of foie gras, having learned in particular from Joël Robuchon, and favors a generous and tasty cuisine based on fresh regional products from Quebec and Canada.

The popular permanent judge of the show Les Chefs! For 10 seasons broadcast on Radio-Canada has become a key figure in the Quebec gastronomic landscape, recognized for his humble and rigorous approach to have inspired several generations of chefs in Canada, and for having participated in the quiet revolution of Quebec cuisine.

Jean-Luc Boulay has used his solid French training to create a modern distinctive gastronomy with accents of the Quebec and Canadian terroir. He is known for having revived the use of products from the boreal forest that have fallen into oblivion and to have combined French know-how with these local flavors.

IMG_0952.jpeg
IMG_2314.jpeg

EARLY LIFE AND CAREER

Born in 1955 in Marolles-les-Braults, a small town near Le Mans in Sarthe (in the Pays de la Loire region), Jean-Luc Boulay comes from a family of 11 children, the son of a mason and a farmer-gardener-florist. He got hooked on what would become his profession around the age of 13 with his mother.

He began his apprenticeship at the age of 15 at the restaurant Le Dauphin in Saint-Pierre-des-Nids, and obtained his certificate of professional aptitude in the kitchen in 1973. He then went on to work in Paris at the restaurant Le Coeur Volant for three years, after completing his compulsory military service (in Saumur as a cook in the officers' mess.

He eventually worked at Orly for an airline, before leaving for Canada during the 1976 Montreal Olympics, to stay there permanently, having been hired as the chef at the restaurant Le Boeuf Charolais, at the Loews Concorde hotel in Quebec City.

Two years later, in 1978, he opened his first restaurant, Le Saint-Amour, located on rue Sainte-Ursule in Old Quebec City, with his partner Jacques Fortier, who over the years would become a true gastronomic institution and one of the great gastronomic tables in the province, having contributed the most to forging the gastronomic identity of Quebec, honored on several occasions, and in particular recognized as one of the best gastronomic restaurants in Quebec and in Canada. Le Saint-Amour is notably known as Paul McCartney's favorite restaurant in town, for whom Jean-Luc Boulay concocted an entirely vegetarian meal featuring Quebec products.

In April 2012, Jean-Luc Boulay opened a Nordic-inspired restaurant, Chez Boulay - Bistro boréal , with chef Arnaud Marchand, located on rue Saint-Jean in Quebec City. He is the ambassador in Quebec of this local cuisine which finds its roots in Nordic products. Indeed, Jean-Luc Boulay is a seasoned hunter and fisherman.

In April 2019, he opened Les Botanistes restaurant, in the Floralies Jouvence garden center in Quebec City, a table that gives pride of place to vegetables in the dishes, with his partners Arnaud Marchand and Jacques Fortier.

Throughout his career as a chef, Jean-Luc Boulay has taken part in over fifty advanced training courses in Europe, carried out among others at the Le Nôtre gastronomic school and at the Bellouet Conseil school in Paris. He had the privilege of representing Quebec culinary art in Belgium, Japan, Malaysia, Italy, Whistler, Martinique as well as at the 2010 Winter Olympics, in Vancouver, and recently in France.

Jean-Luc Boulay is also passionate about training the next generations, giving various seminars in sous-vide cooking, cold meats, and foie gras, while supervising the rigorous training of apprentices and professionals who wish to participate in various competitions, in Quebec and abroad. Volunteering is part of his daily life and he supports many charitable causes, such as the Serge-Bruyère Foundation, the Red Cross, the organization of Young Musicians of the World, the Quebec Philanthrope Foundation, among many others.

resize-3.jpg
Screen Shot 2018-11-17 at 4.28.47 PM.png

TELEVISION

Jean-Luc Boulay is one of the three permanent judges along with Normand Laprise and Pasquale Vari on the TV show Les Chefs! broadcasted at Radio-Canada for 10 years (from 2010 to 2020). Hosted by Élyse Marquis and Daniel Vézina, the program Les Chefs, which has become embedded in Quebec's popular culture, features aspiring chefs who engage in a culinary competition.

BOOKS

In 2011, Jean-Luc Boulay published the book The Gourmet Universe by Jean-Luc Boulay, with 100 recipes for all occasions, each accompanied by a wine pairing. He has participated in the creation of many books on cooking in recent years, however, this is his first book in a personal capacity, written with the help of food journalist and author Anne-Louise Desjardins and photographer André-Olivier Lyra.

In 2014, he participated in the publication of the book The kitchen of my childhood, 100 recipes revisited by 10 great chefs who present the cuisine of their mothers. Jean-Luc brings out original recipes from deep France.

In 2017, he published the book Le garde-manger boréal with his partner, chef Arnaud Marchand, with 80 seasonal recipes from northern Quebec cuisine, revealing the secrets that make the success of their popular restaurant Chez Boulay bistro boréal. A book also produced with the help of author Anne-Louise Desjardins and photographer André-Olivier Lyra.

 
Chef Jean-Luc Boulay (MCF).jpeg
3770b929-4b55-4a33-ac8d-bed89322e148.jpe

AWARDS AND RECOGNITIONS

 

Jean-Luc Boulay's career has been honoured by numerous prizes and distinctions which bear witness to his pursuit of excellence.

In 2003, he was named Chef of the Year by the Society of Chefs, Cooks and Pastry Shops of Quebec (SCCPQ).

In 2009, he received the Meritas Award, an honorary award that aims to pay tribute to a member of the Society of Chefs, Cooks and Pastry chefs of Quebec (SCCPQ) who has distinguished himself within his association while contributing to its progression and development. Dedication, friendliness, and positivity are important selection criteria for obtaining this recognition.

In 2010, he was awarded the Chevalier de l'Ordre du Merit Agricole de France, a prestigious award that rewards French citizens living outside the country who have distinguished themselves in the field of French gastronomy. Created in 1883, the Ordre du Mérite Agricole is the oldest specialized order in France.

Also in 2010, he won the Governor General's Award for Tableware (by the Governor-General of Canada, Michaëlle Jean ), in the "Mentorship and inspiration" category, awarded to people who have become role models and which have inspired their peers and fellow citizens to see and appreciate tableware in a new light. Jean-Luc received this award for having been one of the first cooks to actively promote regional producers, in Canada and abroad, by using their ingredients, helping them to become known, and guiding them in the improvement of their production and profitability.

 

In 2012, he received the Renaud-Cyr prize, which aims to recognize the know-how of food professionals: chefs, cooks, pastry chefs, producers, processors who work to promote Quebec products and cuisine.

Also in 2012, he was inducted into Master Chef of France, one of the titles most envied by chefs around the world. The Association des Maîtres Cuisiniers de France is a worthy promoter of the French culinary arts and encourages professional excellence through numerous national and international cooking competitions.

 

In 2017, Jean-Luc Boulay was elevated to the rank of Officer of the Order of Agricultural Merit of France, for his contribution to the influence of French gastronomy in Quebec.

In 2019, at the 66th Gala of the Presidency of the Society of Chefs, Cooks and Patissiers of Quebec (SCCPQ), he received the Lumière Award, an award recognizing a person who sheds new and different light on the professions of the gastronomic world.

 

DEVELOPMENT

LENÔTRE School, Paris, France

 

2018 - Training on "Extraction, Concentration, Fixation" techniques with Bruno Goussault, scientific director of CREA, and Yannick Alléno chef de cuisine of Ledoyen

2014 - Sous-vide cooking training with Bruno Goussault Scientific Director of CREA

1997 - Plates for Buffets Prestige

1996 - Desserts on a plate

1995 - Meat and Poultry with Joël Robuchon

1994 - Bread and Viennese pastries for restaurants

1993 - New desserts and pastries

1992 - Fish on a plate

1990 - New cooking techniques

1989 - Appetizers on a plate with Joël Robuchon

1989 - Desserts for restaurants

1988 - Gibiers and gastronomy

1987 - Jean-Luc represents Quebec:

  • At the gastronomic week in Namur (Belgium)

  • At the Quebec Culinary Festival in Tokyo (Japan)

  • At the Singapore Festival - Kuala Lumpur (Malaysia)

  • Participates in various Inter sucre culinary fairs, SIAL Paris - Montreal - Toronto - Chicago - New York - Singapore - Tokyo

 

3cc6cae1-5685-44a7-9efc-d82e43adda33_ORI

The gourmet universe of Jean-Luc Boulay

Few Quebec chefs have a career as rich and diverse as Jean-Luc Boulay, popular permanent judge of the show Les Chefs! and co-founder, with his friend Jacques Fortier, of this great house that is Le Saint-Amour, in Quebec City.

This book written with four hands with his friend, the gastronomic journalist and author Anne-Louise Desjardins, Jean-Luc Boulay wanted it to be a very personal sum of knowledge and a summary of all his passions: the years spent in the kitchen of Le Saint-Amour, of course, but also family life, Sunday evening dinners, hunting and fishing, his mastery of foie gras, the profession of Chef, not to mention the bond he has always maintained with the local artisans and his trainees.

On sale at the restaurant for $ 35.

Guest chefs at
Le Saint-Amour

  • Michel Husser, Michelin-starred chef, Master chef of France (Alsace, France)

  • Jean-Luc Rocha, Meilleur Ouvrier de France, two stars, came for two consecutive years (Bordeaux, France)

  • Régis Marcon, three stars Michelin  mushroom specialist (Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France)

  • Jacques Le Divellec, seafood cuisine (Paris, France)

  • Jean Montagard, vegetarian cuisine (South of France)

  • Charles Jeandrain (Namur, Belgium)

  • Hélio Loureiro (Portugal)

IMG_7487.JPG
 
WhatsApp Image 2021-01-15 at 8.25.13 AM.
WhatsApp Image 2021-01-15 at 3.46.20 AM.

LA BRIGADE

 
_YRA8379.jpg

FRANÇOIS HUGHES

Chef since 2017

Sous-chef since 2015

Professional studies diploma in establishment cooking

Fierbourg vocational training center, 2008

Red Seal certified chef - a universally recognized and highly prestigious certification of apprenticeship in Canada 

ÉRIC LESSARD

Pastry chef since 2005

2019 Meritas Award of the Year from the Society of Chefs and Pastry Chefs of Quebec (SCCPQ)

Quebec Pastry Chef of the Year 2013 (National), nominated by the SCCPQ

Pastry Chef of the Year 2012 of the Quebec Chapter (SCCPQ)

Pastry Chef of the Year 2011 of the Quebec Chapter (SCCPQ)

Silver medal in the competition for apprentice cooks and pastry chefs in 2006 awarded by the society of chefs and pastry chefs of Quebec (SCCPQ)

_YRA8423.jpg
89358735_146778466804482_170754178127442

ARIEL RAMIREZ

Chef de partie since 1995

Red Seal certified chef - a universally recognized and highly prestigious certification of apprenticeship in Canada

31284250_2087300791321375_72230688907948

Le Chef Jean-Luc Boulay

 

Originaire de France, Jean-Luc Boulay émigre au Canada en 1976 pour s'y installer définitivement. Maître cuisinier de France et Officier de l’Ordre du mérite agricole de France, il est réputé pour sa maîtrise du foie gras, ayant notamment appris auprès de Joël Robuchon, et il favorise une cuisine généreuse et goûteuse axée sur les produits frais du terroir québécois et canadien.

Le populaire juge permanent de l'émission Les Chefs! depuis 10 saisons diffusée à Radio-Canada est devenu une personnalité incontournable du paysage gastronomique québécois, reconnu pour son approche humble et rigoureuse d'avoir inspiré plusieurs générations de cuisiniers au Canada, et d'avoir participer à la révolution tranquille de la cuisine québécoise.

Jean-Luc Boulay a mis à profit sa solide formation française pour créer une gastronomie distinctive aux accents du terroir québécois et canadien. Sa spécificité est essentiellement d’avoir remis au goût du jour l’utilisation des produits de la forêt boréale tombés dans l’oubli et d’avoir conjugué le savoir-faire français avec ces saveurs locales.

IMG_0952.jpeg
IMG_2314.jpeg

PARCOURS

 

Né en 1955 à Marolles-les-Braults, une petite bourgade à proximité de Le Mans en Sarthe (dans la région du Pays de la Loire), Jean-Luc Boulay est issu d’une famille de 11 enfants, fils de maçon et cultivateur-jardinier-fleuriste. Il eu la piqûre pour ce qui allait devenir son métier vers l'âge de 13 ans en compagnie de sa mère.

Il entreprend son apprentissage à l'âge 15 ans au restaurant Le Dauphin à Saint-Pierre-des-Nids, et obtient son certificat d'aptitudes professionnelles en cuisine en 1973. Il va ensuite travailler à Paris au restaurant Le Coeur Volant pendant trois ans, après avoir complété son service militaire obligatoire (à Saumur) à titre de cuisinier au mess des officiers.

Il travaillera finalement à Orly pour une compagnie aérienne, avant de partir au Canada lors des jeux olympiques de Montréal de 1976, pour y rester définitivement, ayant été engagé comme chef cuisinier du restaurant Le Boeuf Charolais, à l'hôtel Loews Concorde à Québec.

Deux ans plus tard, en 1978, il ouvre son premier restaurant, Le Saint-Amour, situé sur la rue Sainte-Ursule dans le Vieux-Québec, avec son associé Jacques Fortier, qui deviendra au fil des années une véritable institution gastronomique et une des grandes tables gastronomiques de Québec ayant le plus contribué à forger l’identité gastronomique de Québec, honoré à plusieurs reprises, et notamment reconnu comme l'un des meilleurs restaurants gastronomiques au Québec et au Canada. Le Saint-Amour est notamment connu comme le restaurant préféré de Paul McCartney en ville, pour qui Jean-Luc Boulay concoctera un repas entièrement végétarien mettant en vedette les produits du Québec.

En avril 2012, Jean-Luc Boulay ouvre un restaurant d’inspiration nordique, Chez Boulay – Bistro boréal, avec le chef Arnaud Marchand, situé sur la rue Saint-Jean dans le Vieux-Québec. Il est l'ambassadeur au Québec de cette cuisine locale qui trouve ses racines dans les produits nordiques. En effet, Jean-Luc Boulay est un chasseur et un pêcheur aguerri.

En avril 2019, il ouvre le restaurant Les Botanistes, dans le centre jardin Floralies Jouvence à Québec, une table qui donne la vedette aux légumes dans les plats, avec ses partenaires Arnaud Marchand et Jacques Fortier.

Tout au long de son parcours de chef, Jean-Luc Boulay a participé à une cinquantaine de stages de perfectionnement en Europe, réalisés entre autres à l’école gastronomique Le Nôtre et à l’école Bellouet Conseil à Paris. Il a eu le privilège de représenter l’art culinaire québécois en Belgique, au Japon, en Malaisie, en Italie, à Whistler, en Martinique ainsi qu’aux Jeux olympiques d’hiver de 2010, à Vancouver et récemment en France.

Jean-Luc Boulay se passionne également pour la formation de la relève, donnant différents séminaires en cuisson sous vide, en charcuterie et en foie gras, tout en supervisant le rigoureux entraînement des apprentis et des professionnels qui souhaitent participer à différentes compétitions, au Québec comme à l'étranger. Le bénévolat fait partie de son quotidien et il appuie de nombreuses causes caritatives, tel que la Fondation Serge-Bruyère, la Croix-Rouge, l'organisme des Jeunes musiciens du monde, la Fondation Québec Philanthrope, parmi plusieurs autres.

resize-3.jpg
Screen Shot 2018-11-17 at 4.28.47 PM.png

TÉLÉVISION

Jean-Luc Boulay est un des trois juges permanents avec Normand Laprise and Pasquale Vari à l’émission Les Chefs! diffusée à Radio-Canada depuis 10 ans (de 2010 à 2020). Animée par Élyse Marquis et Daniel Vézina, l'émission Les Chefs qui s’est incrustée dans la culture populaire du Québec, met en vedette des aspirants chefs qui se livrent à une compétition culinaire.

LIVRES

En 2011, Jean-Luc Boulay publie le livre L’univers gourmand de Jean-Luc Boulay, avec 100 recettes pour toutes occasions, chacune doublée d'un accord vin. Il a participé à la création de nombreux ouvrages sur la cuisine au cours des dernières années, cependant c'est son premier livre à titre personnel, écrit avec la complicité de la journaliste gastronomique et auteure Anne-Louise Desjardins et du photographe André-Olivier Lyra.

En 2014, il participe a la publication du livre La cuisine de mon enfance, 100 recettes revisitées par 10 grand chefs qui présentent la cuisine de leurs mères. Jean-Luc fait paraitre des recettes originales de la France profonde.

En 2017, il publie le livre Le garde-manger boréal avec son associé le chef Arnaud Marchand, avec 80 recettes saisonnières de la cuisine nordique du Québec, révélant les secrets qui font le succès de leur populaire restaurant Chez Boulay bistro boréal. Un livre réalisé avec la complicité de l’auteure Anne-Louise Desjardins et du photographe André-Olivier Lyra.

 
Chef Jean-Luc Boulay (MCF).jpeg
3770b929-4b55-4a33-ac8d-bed89322e148.jpe

PRIX ET DISTINCTIONS

 

La carrière de Jean-Luc Boulay a été honorée par de nombreux prix et distinctions qui témoignent de sa recherche de l’excellence. 

En 2003, il est nommé chef de l’année par la Société des chefs, cuisiniers et pâtissiers du Québec (SCCPQ).

En 2009, il reçoit le Prix Méritas, un prix honorifique qui a pour but de rendre hommage à un membre de la Société des chefs, cuisiniers et pâtissiers du Québec (SCCPQ) qui a su se distinguer au sein de son association tout en contribuant à sa progression et à son développement. Le dévouement, la convivialité et la positivité sont des critères de sélection importants pour l’obtention de cette reconnaissance.

En 2010, il est reçu chevalier de l’Ordre du mérite agricole de France, un prix prestigieux qui récompense les Français résidant à l’extérieur du pays qui se sont distingués dans le domaine de la gastronomie française. Créé en 1883, l’Ordre du Mérite Agricole est l’ordre spécialisé le plus ancien de France.

Également en 2010, il remporte le Prix du gouverneur général du Canada pour les arts de la table (par la gouverneure générale du Canada, Michaëlle Jean), dans la catégorie "Mentorat et inspiration", décerné à des personnes qui sont devenues des modèles de comportement et qui ont incité leurs pairs et leurs concitoyens et concitoyennes à voir et à apprécier les arts de la table sous un nouveau jour. Jean-Luc reçoit ce prix pour avoir été l’un des premiers cuisiniers à faire activement la promotion des producteurs régionaux, au Canada comme à l’étranger, en utilisant leurs ingrédients, en les aidant à se faire connaître et en les guidant dans l’amélioration de leur production et de leur rentabilité.

 

En 2012, il recoit le prix Renaud-Cyr, qui a pour but de reconnaître le savoir-faire des professionnels de l'alimentation: chefs, cuisiniers, pâtissiers, producteurs, transformateurs qui travaillent à la valorisation des produits et de la cuisine du Québec.

Aussi en 2012, il est intronisé Maître cuisinier de France, l’un des titres les plus enviés par les chefs du monde entier. L’Association des Maîtres Cuisiniers de France se veut un digne promoteur des arts culinaires français et encourage l’excellence professionnelle grâce à de nombreux concours de cuisine à l’échelle nationale et internationale.

 

En 2017, Jean-Luc Boulay a été élevé au grade d’Officier de l’Ordre du mérite agricole de France, pour sa contribution au rayonnement de la gastronomie française au Québec.

En 2019, au 66e Gala de la Présidence de la Société des chefs, cuisiniers et pâtissiers du Québec (SCCPQ), il reçoit le prix Lumière, un prix reconnaissant une personne qui projette un éclairage neuf et différent sur les professions du milieu gastronomique.

 

PERFECTIONNEMENT

École LENÔTRE, Paris, France

 

2018 - Formation sur les techniques "Extraction, Concentration, Fixation" avec Bruno Goussault, directeur scientifique du CREA et Yannick Alléno chef de cuisine du Ledoyen

2014 - Formation sur la cuisson Sous-vide avec Bruno Goussault directeur scientifique du CREA

1997 - Plats pour Buffets Prestige

1996 - Desserts sur assiette

1995 - Viandes et Volailles selon Joël Robuchon

1994 - Pains et Viennoiseries pour restaurants

1993 - Entremets et Pâtisseries nouvelles

1992 - Poissons sur assiette

1990 - Nouvelles techniques de cuisine

1989 - Entrées sur assiette selon Joël Robuchon

1989 - Desserts en restauration

1988 - Gibiers et gastronomie

1987 - Jean-Luc représente le Québec :

  • À la semaine gastronomique à Namur (Belgique)

  • Au Festival culinaire Québécois à Tokyo (Japon)

  • Au Festival de Singapour - Kuala Lumpur (Malaisie)

  • Participe à différents salons culinaires Inter sucre, SIAL Paris - Montréal - Toronto - Chicago - New York - Singapour - Tokyo

 

3cc6cae1-5685-44a7-9efc-d82e43adda33_ORI

L'univers gourmand de Jean-Luc Boulay 

Peu de cuisiniers québécois ont un parcours aussi riche et diversifié que Jean-Luc Boulay, populaire juge permanent de l’émission Les Chefs! et cofondateur, avec son ami Jacques Fortier, de cette grande maison qu’est Le Saint-Amour, dans le Vieux-Québec.

Ce livre écrit à quatre mains avec son amie, la journaliste gastronomique et auteure Anne-Louise Desjardins, Jean-Luc Boulay l’a voulu comme une somme très personnelle de connaissances et un résumé de toutes ses passions: les années passées aux fourneaux du Saint-Amour, bien sûr, mais aussi la vie de famille, les soupers du dimanche soir, la chasse et la pêche, la maîtrise du foie gras, le métier de traiteur, sans oublier la complicité qu’il entretient depuis toujours avec les artisans et les apprentis. 

En vente au restaurant à 35 $.

Chefs invités

au Saint-Amour

  • Michel Husser, chef étoilé, Maitre cuisinier de France (Alsace, France)

  • Jean-Luc Rocha, Meilleur ouvrier de France, doublement étoilés, est venu deux années consécutives (Bordeaux, France)

  • Régis Marcon, trois étoiles, spécialiste  des champignons (Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes, France)

  • Jacques Le Divellec, cuisine de la mer (Paris, France)

  •  Jean Montagard, cuisine végétarienne (Sud de la France)

  • Charles Jeandrain (Namur, Belgique)

  • Hélio Loureiro (Portugal)

IMG_7487.JPG
 
WhatsApp Image 2021-01-15 at 8.25.13 AM.
WhatsApp Image 2021-01-15 at 3.46.20 AM.

LA BRIGADE

 
_YRA8379.jpg

FRANÇOIS HUGHES

Chef des cuisines depuis 2017

Sous-chef depuis 2015

Diplôme d’études professionnelles en cuisine d’établissement

Centre de formations professionnelles Fierbourg, 2008

Titulaire du sceau rouge en cuisine

ÉRIC LESSARD

Chef pâtissier depuis 2005

Prix Méritas de l’année 2019 de la Société des Chefs cuisiniers et pâtissiers du Québec (SCCPQ)

Chef pâtissier de l'année 2013 du Québec (National), nommé par la SCCPQ

Chef pâtissier de l'année 2012 du chapitre de Québec (SCCPQ)

Chef pâtissier de l'année 2011 du chapitre de Québec (SCCPQ)

Médaille d’argent au concours des apprentis cuisiniers et pâtissiers en 2006 décerné par la société des chefs cuisiniers et pâtissiers du Québec (SCCPQ) 

_YRA8423.jpg
89358735_146778466804482_170754178127442

ARIEL RAMIREZ

Chef de partie depuis 1995

Titulaire du sceau rouge en cuisine 

Tel: 418 694 0667    |     Email: delice@saint-amour.com

Logo STA 1978.png
Screen Shot 2021-01-08 at 6.20.42 PM.png
logo_les-botanistes-wpcf_300x300.jpg
  • TripAdvisor
  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn

Abonnez-vous à notre infolettre et soyez les premiers à découvrir nos nouvelles créations

Copyright 2021 © Tous Droits Réservés | Restaurant Le Saint-Amour